How to use proper DIR and Virtual Hosts

• | 780 points

Hi,

I'm very new at this, I'm sorry about the really newbie questions!

I installed Wordpress with Laragon, and Laragon document root is set to \www, I pull up the computer's IP address, and all I see is the Laragon getting started page. If I set the document root to \www\testwebpage, it will show my Wordpress site. Is this how it's supposed to work? How am I supposed to get it to read my webpage without changing the document root?

Second, I would like to use a virtual host. So I create a second Wordpress site, let's say \www\testwebpage2, how do I get Laragon to create the virtual host? I'm using a free DNS service that's pointing with CNAME to a dynamic DNS that's on the computer with the 2 websites. I would like it to work like:
    testwebpage.freedns.com->test.dyndns.com->\www\testwebpage
    testwebpage2.freedns.com->test.dyndns.com->\www\testwebpage2
    Possible?

• administrators
    | 97034 points

@MrSumOne : Laragon auto creates Virtual Host for you. You don't need to change Laragon Document Root.
    If you use \www as Document Root, and you can access your testwebpage with this link:
    http://testwebpage.test

Ref: https://laragon.org/docs/pretty-urls.html

• | 780 points

@leokhoa Yes, but then I can't access it anywhere but locally. How am I supposed to push it out so that I can view it on other computers by typing the IP address?

• administrators
    | 97034 points

@MrSumOne : The easiest way is using Quick share:
    https://laragon.org/docs/quick-share.html

• | 780 points

@leokhoa Thanks so much for answering my questions! I came up with a few more that I have in response to your answer.

I set the document root to \www, then used ngrok to share testwebpage, the url generated leads me to the Laragon getting started page! Things will only work properly when I set the document root to \www\testwebpage, what am I doing wrong?