Problems with PostgreSQL > pgAdmin > python dll

• | 1084 points

Hi - so I upgraded to Laragon 4 and used the quick install for PostgreSql. I added an empty database from pgAdmin and once I got it to allow me to click the "restore" button I tried restoring an existing database. (I'm new to PostgreSql)
    But I get an error dialog with "The program can't start because python36.dll is missing from your computer".
    I've restarted and then done a separate install of Python to the computer plus a restart, but same error.
    Any ideas?

FYI: the quick install of PostgreSql seems to miss anything to do with setting a password, or showing a dialog to add one - I got stuck till I added my own "pgpass.conf" file in the PostgreSql directory.

Thanks for the great work making Laragon!

• administrators
    | 110340 points

Hi @anothername : I did not use the "restore" button. To restore database quickly, you should use psql in Terminal (Menu > Laragon > Terminal). The command is simple:

psql my-database < path-of-my.sql

PostgreSQL is secure in local (with pg_hba.conf), so you can login with no password with 2 users:

• postgres
    • Your-Windows-Account (Laragon automatically creates it)

Once you use PostgreSQL with Laragon, you'll find it is very easy to manage.

• | 1084 points

I can't get it to work when I try the terminal.

is this correct:
    I place the backup in my laragon directory
    I go to that directory in the terminal, then:

psql mydb.backup < db_name_I_previously_added_in_PgAdmin

But I get
    psql: FATAL: database "mydb.backup" does not exist

I also tried
    psql mydb.backup < data\mysql\mysql\postgresql-11\db_name_I_previously_added_in_PgAdmin

Any ideas?

• administrators
    | 110340 points

@anothername : You haven't create the mydb.backup database yet. Just create it:

createdb mydb.backup

• | 1084 points

Right - it seems to work but there are no tables. So then I tried phpPgAdmin but that can't find the databases.