Migrate live site wp-config.php - how to ammend DB name etc using wp.com

• | 690 points

Hi, Im having issues with transfering wp-config.php from my live site. I made the transfer to my new staging site but get "Error establishing a data base connection" I have looked in my wp-config.php and this is what is visible:

• Database connection information is automatically provided.
    • There is no need to set or change the following database configuration
    • values:
    • DB_HOST* DB_NAM * DB_USER * DB_PASSWORD* DB_CHARSET * DB_COLLATE
      */
      I am using Wordpress.com as hosting and have the wordpress.com business package. Prior to moving over the wp-config.php my staging site appeared to be working having transferred all wp-content from live site, all plug ins visible etc. help or pointing in right direction would be most appreciated Im a novice at the min. Thank you

• | 4169 points

If you use Wordpress, the easier way is to install this plugin:
    https://wordpress.org/plugins/all-in-one-wp-migration/
    Watch this tutorial:

• | 690 points

Thank you for the response,this I believe helped although I now have a new issue.
    I have exported from live site to local using the file made by (all in one wp migrate) I have created a blank Wordpress site via the Laragon program and installed plug in here as well and imported the file. All seems to of worked but it then asks for log in and I am unable? I have changed live site security details and carried out export/import again with no joy, I have used local PW & User no joy. if I click lost PW I end up on live site splash page and am unable to make any selections. am I missing a part of the process, is it possible to copy live site to local for staging?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks

Again thanks for the video it was very helpful

• | 690 points