I Already Have PHP, MySQL, and Apache Set-Up - Do I Have To Delete Before Installing Laragon?

• | 589 points

I already set-up PHP, MySQL, and Apache manually (no 1 click installs, etc.).

Do I have to remove it before installing Laragon? Thanks

• administrators
    | 53152 points

@reinart : Laragon is self-contained and as you control PHP, MySQL and Apache, you don't need to.
    Just make sure:

1. They are not in your PATH (to avoid versions' conflicts)
    2. They are not running when starting Laragon's services (to avoid ports' conflicts). It's Ok if you change ports (Menu > Preferences > Services and Ports)

• | 589 points

Thanks! I'm very new to this, so I have a few questions:

1. What do you mean they are not in my PATH?
    2. So I just have to make sure the Apache24 Windows Service is off, and my MySQL Instance is stopped.

Right? :)

Thanks!

• administrators
    | 53152 points

@reinart :

1. To build modern apps quick and easily, you should use command line. Adding to PATH helps you type php, mysql without full path.
      To check: on Laragon, open Terminal and type composer --version, composer will call PHP, as Laragon adds PHP to its own PATH, it will work.

2. Yes, you're right.

Note: Laragon is isolated with the OS so it doesn't use Windows Services.

• | 589 points

Okay cool! I'm still kinda confused about the PATH thing though.

I did a quick Google search, and that means adding to the searchable directory of the command line, right?

So, I do have composer installed, but I've never used it. Does this mean my PHP, MySQL, Apache are already in my PATH and will conflict with the Laragon install?

Also - GIT comes with your package right? This means I can access it through the Laragon terminal only, but not outside? Is that right?

I'm super thankful for you answering all my questions. If you have a donate/contribute button, just lead me to it and I'll be happy to support this awesome tool. :) Thank you!!!

• administrators
    | 53152 points